To the Denver Broncos….

To the Denver Broncos….
An open letter to the Denver Broncos thanking them for a great season they had.
The Denver Broncos are a professional American football team based in Denver, Colorado. They are members of the West Division of the American Football Conference in the National Football League. The Broncos began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League and joined the NFL as part of the AFL–NFL merger of 1970.
The Broncos were barely competitive during their 10-year run in the AFL and their first seven years in the NFL, never making the playoffs. They did not have a winning season until 1973. Four years later, in 1977, they made the playoffs for the first time in franchise history and advanced to Super Bowl XII. Since then, the Broncos have become one of the NFL’s more successful teams, having suffered only six losing seasons in 35 years. They have won seven AFC Championships and two Super Bowls. They play at Sports Authority Field at Mile High and have four players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: John Elway, Floyd Little, Gary Zimmerman, and Shannon Sharpe.
Super Bowl XLVIII was an American football game between the American Football Conference (AFC) champion Denver Broncos and National Football Conference (NFC) champion Seattle Seahawks to decide the National Football League (NFL) champion for the 2013 season. It was held on February 2, 2014, at MetLife Stadium at the Meadowlands Sports Complex in East Rutherford, New Jersey, with kickoff occurring at 6:25 pm EST.
For the first time since Super Bowl XLIV, and just the second time in the past twenty seasons, the number 1 seeds from each conference met to decide the championship. The game featured the league’s top offense (Denver) against the top defense (Seattle), the first time this has occurred since Super Bowl XXXVII. It also featured two former division rivals–Seattle played in the AFC West division from 1977 to 2001)–which last occurred in Super Bowl XLIII.
The Seattle Seahawks won Super Bowl XLVIII, defeating the Denver Broncos 43–8, the largest point differential since Super Bowl XXVII. This was Seattle’s first Super Bowl win in franchise history. Seahawks linebacker Malcolm Smith, who scored on a 69-yard interception return for a touchdown, recorded a fumble recovery and nine tackles, was named the game’s most valuable player.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *